0131 564 0626 | email | facebook
The CITB Site Management Safety Training Scheme (SMSTS) course is one of the most highly regarded health and safety courses within the UK construction industry and is designed for supervisors and managers and is often an essential requirement for many management position jobs within construction. READ MORE
View our SMSTS courses below.
Start DateEnd DateLocationPostcodeDurationPrice

Mon, 18th – Fri, 22nd Jan
Mon, 25th – Fri, 29th Jan
Mon, 12th – Fri, 16th Apr

Virtual5 Days£450.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 12th Apr
Mon, 7th Jun
Mon, 9th Aug
Mon, 11th Oct
Mon, 13th Dec

Fri, 16th Apr
Fri, 11th Jun
Fri, 13th Aug
Fri, 15th Oct
Fri, 17th Dec

BarnsleyS75 1JL5 Day Block£495.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 1st Mar
Mon, 12th Apr
Mon, 17th May
Mon, 28th Jun

Fri, 5th Mar
Fri, 16th Apr
Fri, 21st May
Fri, 2nd Jul

EdinburghEH20 9LZ5 Day Block£475.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 25th Jan
Mon, 22nd Mar
Mon, 24th May

Fri, 29th Jan
Fri, 26th Mar
Fri, 28th May

GlasgowG74 5LA5 Day Block£445.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 1st Feb
Mon, 1st Mar
Mon, 12th Apr
Mon, 24th May
Mon, 5th Jul
Mon, 6th Sep
Mon, 18th Oct
Mon, 6th Dec

Fri, 5th Feb
Fri, 5th Mar
Fri, 16th Apr
Fri, 28th May
Fri, 9th Jul
Fri, 10th Sep
Fri, 22nd Oct
Fri, 10th Dec

LeedsLS27 7LE5 Day Block£450.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 12th Apr
Mon, 12th Jul
Mon, 4th Oct

Fri, 16th Apr
Fri, 16th Jul
Fri, 8th Oct

LeylandPR25 4GU5 Day Block£475.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 15th Mar
Mon, 13th Sep

Fri, 19th Mar
Fri, 17th Sep

LiverpoolL24 9HZ5 Day Block£475.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 15th Feb
Mon, 12th Apr
Mon, 17th May
Mon, 28th Jun
Mon, 9th Aug
Mon, 20th Sep
Mon, 25th Oct
Mon, 6th Dec

Fri, 19th Feb
Fri, 16th Apr
Fri, 21st May
Fri, 2nd Jul
Fri, 13th Aug
Fri, 24th Sep
Fri, 29th Oct
Fri, 10th Dec

LondonSE1 8UJ5 Day Block£510.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 8th Feb
Mon, 22nd Mar
Mon, 3rd May
Mon, 7th Jun

Fri, 12th Feb
Fri, 26th Mar
Fri, 7th May
Fri, 11th Jun

NewcastleNE4 8AW5 Day Block£475.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 19th Apr
Mon, 9th Aug
Mon, 15th Nov

Fri, 23rd Apr
Fri, 13th Aug
Fri, 19th Nov

PrestonPR1 3BY5 Day Block£475.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 1st Mar
Mon, 17th May
Mon, 12th Jul
Mon, 6th Sep
Mon, 1st Nov

Fri, 5th Mar
Fri, 21st May
Fri, 16th Jul
Fri, 10th Sep
Fri, 5th Nov

SouthamptonSO51 6AN5 Day Block£425.00BOOK NOW

Course Overview
The course ensures site managers and aspiring managers develop an understanding of the legal, moral and social responsibilities of their role, as well as how to effectively manage health and safety on site. It is considered to be an indication of the competence of a Site Manger according to the Approved Code of Practice for the Construction (Design and Management) Regulations (CDM) and The United Kingdom Contractors Group (UKCG) recognises this course as meeting the required standard for all managers working on UKCG sites.

Who is the SMSTS course for?
The course is designed for site managers, supervisors, foremen and anyone who is seeking to advance into a role with site management responsibility. There are no pre-requisites for this course although a good understanding of spoken and written English is required.

Topics Covered
The Health and Safety at Work Act
Construction Design and Management (CDM) Regulations
Risk assessments/method statements
Recent changes in accepted working practices
Behavioural safety
Management of occupational health
Electricity
Excavations
Working at height
Scaffolding
Demolition
Confined spaces.

Course Information
The SMSTS course is run over 37 hours and you will be required to attend all 5 days of the course in order to be awarded the qualification. A maximum of 16 students are accepted at any one time to ensure each individual gets the best possible learning experience and any additional support they may require.

Assessment and Exams
This is a highly interactive course delivered by means of case studies, classroom discussion, group work and individual/group presentations. You will be continuously assessed and required to successfully complete a multiple-choice test at the end of the course.

Qualifications and Certification
Upon successfully completing of the course you will be awarded a CITB Site Safety Plus certificate usually within 6-8 weeks. This qualification is valid for 5 years and can be renewed by attending the 2-day SMSTS Refresher course.

Where can I attend this course?
Ecosse Health and Safety provide training courses in Edinburgh and Glasgow. Alternatively, we can provide in-house training that can be tailored specifically to your work environment and activities, and will significantly reduce costs for your business. If you have an enquiry about training options, contact us and we will be happy to answer any questions.