0131 564 0626 | email | facebook
The CITB Site Management Safety Training Scheme (SMSTS) course is one of the most highly regarded health and safety courses within the UK construction industry and is designed for supervisors and managers and is often an essential requirement for many management position jobs within construction. READ MORE
View our SMSTS courses below.
Start DateEnd DateLocationPostcodeDurationPrice

Mon, 13th May
Mon, 15th Jul
Mon, 16th Sep
Mon, 18th Nov

Fri, 17th May
Fri, 19th Jul
Fri, 20th Sep
Fri, 22nd Nov

Virtual5 Days£455.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 29th Apr
Mon, 17th Jun
Mon, 22nd Jul
Mon, 19th Aug
Mon, 21st Oct
Mon, 18th Nov

Fri, 3rd May
Fri, 21st Jun
Fri, 26th Jul
Fri, 23rd Aug
Fri, 25th Oct
Fri, 22nd Nov

DoncasterDN3 3EH5 Day Block£460.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 3rd Jun
Mon, 12th Aug
Mon, 7th Oct
Mon, 2nd Dec

Fri, 7th Jun
Fri, 16th Aug
Fri, 11th Oct
Fri, 6th Dec

EdinburghEH20 9LZ5 Day Block£495.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 13th May
Mon, 29th Jul

Fri, 17th May
Fri, 1st Aug

Glasgow NorthG22 5DT5 Day Block£525.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 15th Apr
Mon, 24th Jun
Mon, 26th Aug
Mon, 21st Oct
Mon, 2nd Dec

Fri, 19th Apr
Fri, 28th Jun
Fri, 30th Aug
Fri, 25th Oct
Fri, 6th Dec

Glasgow SouthPA1 2FB5 Day Block£495.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 13th May
Mon, 8th Jul
Mon, 5th Aug
Mon, 7th Oct
Mon, 4th Nov

Fri, 17th May
Fri, 12th Jul
Fri, 9th Aug
Fri, 11th Oct
Fri, 8th Nov

LeylandPR25 4GU5 Day Block£450.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 13th May
Mon, 17th Jun
Mon, 5th Aug
Mon, 21st Oct
Mon, 9th Dec

Fri, 17th May
Fri, 21st Jun
Fri, 9th Aug
Fri, 25th Oct
Fri, 13th Dec

LondonSE1 8UJ5 Day Block£455.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 15th Apr
Mon, 13th May
Mon, 10th Jun
Mon, 15th Jul
Mon, 9th Sep
Mon, 14th Oct
Mon, 11th Nov
Mon, 9th Dec

Fri, 19th Apr
Fri, 17th May
Fri, 14th Jun
Fri, 19th Jul
Fri, 13th Sep
Fri, 18th Oct
Fri, 15th Nov
Fri, 13th Dec

NewcastleNE4 8AW5 Day Block£455.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 10th Jun
Mon, 15th Jul
Mon, 19th Aug
Mon, 14th Oct

Fri, 14th Jun
Fri, 19th Jul
Fri, 23rd Aug
Fri, 18th Oct

SouthamptonSO51 6AN5 Day Block£495.00BOOK NOW

Course Overview
The course ensures site managers and aspiring managers develop an understanding of the legal, moral and social responsibilities of their role, as well as how to effectively manage health and safety on site. It is considered to be an indication of the competence of a Site Manger according to the Approved Code of Practice for the Construction (Design and Management) Regulations (CDM) and The United Kingdom Contractors Group (UKCG) recognises this course as meeting the required standard for all managers working on UKCG sites.

Who is the SMSTS course for?
The course is designed for site managers, supervisors, foremen and anyone who is seeking to advance into a role with site management responsibility. There are no pre-requisites for this course although a good understanding of spoken and written English is required.

Topics Covered
The Health and Safety at Work Act
Construction Design and Management (CDM) Regulations
Risk assessments/method statements
Recent changes in accepted working practices
Behavioural safety
Management of occupational health
Electricity
Excavations
Working at height
Scaffolding
Demolition
Confined spaces.

Course Information
The SMSTS course is run over 37 hours and you will be required to attend all 5 days of the course in order to be awarded the qualification. A maximum of 16 students are accepted at any one time to ensure each individual gets the best possible learning experience and any additional support they may require.

Assessment and Exams
This is a highly interactive course delivered by means of case studies, classroom discussion, group work and individual/group presentations. You will be continuously assessed and required to successfully complete a multiple-choice test at the end of the course.

Qualifications and Certification
Upon successfully completing of the course you will be awarded a CITB Site Safety Plus certificate usually within 6-8 weeks. This qualification is valid for 5 years and can be renewed by attending the 2-day SMSTS Refresher course.

Where can I attend this course?
Ecosse Health and Safety provide training courses in Edinburgh and Glasgow. Alternatively, we can provide in-house training that can be tailored specifically to your work environment and activities, and will significantly reduce costs for your business. If you have an enquiry about training options, contact us and we will be happy to answer any questions.